The SPD Magazine of the Year: Gold Medal Magazines & Art Directors

The SPD Magazine of the Year: Gold Medal Magazines & Art Directors Here's the second of our series of infographics celebrating the history and winners of the SPD Magazine of the Year award.

In 1997, SPD introduced the Magazine of the Year award, a recognition of the publication that featured the top all-around design, imagery, graphics, illustration, and general visual magic. The first winner was 2wice, art directed by Abbott Miller. In the years since, the list of winning magazines and art directors reads like a who's who of publication design: The New York Times Magazine, Details, GQ, Martha Stewart Kids, New York, Bloomberg Businessweek, Wired, and art directors Arem Duplessis, Janet Froelich, Fred Woodward, Patrick Mitchell, Debra Bishop, Luke Hayman, Rockwell Harwood, John Korpics, Richard Turley, and Scott Dadich. The Magazine of the Year is the ultimate SPD award, an acknowledgement by the visual community of the very best in publication design.


To celebrate the Magazine of the Year, Huffington magazine's Troy Dunham has created this sparkling graphic (note that there are actually 20 Magazine of the Year winners, because three awards each were given in 2006 and 2007 in three circulation categories).

SPD 49 MOY Finalists.png
The finalists for Magazine of the Year for the upcoming Pub 49 awards are: AchtungBon AppetitNew YorkThe New York Times Magazine, and Wired. The winner will be announced at the glamorous SPD Gala on May 2 at 4 WTC (a new venue!).

For more on the 49th Annual Awards, follow us on Twitter: @SPDTweets  #SPD49

Magazine of the Year Chair:
Robert Newman: @newmanology

PUB 49 Co Chairs: 
Alex Grossman, Creative Director: Bon Appétit
Cybele Grandjean, Partner: Ligature

PUB 49 Digital Chair: 
Scher Foord, Executive Director of Design: Condé Nast Technology

blog comments powered by Disqus